Afternoon Panic and the In’s and Out’s of Lent

Zach and I have had quite the exciting afternoon… what happened you ask? Oh just Zach pressing the lock button on the car door and locking himself in my baby Jeep today! Imagine my suprise when I go to open his door and oops its locked… side door, locked… my door, locked! Keys? in the car. Phone? in the car! Disaster, heart attack, panic all in one thought sequence! Zach of course is having a ball in the car by himself! Eating raisins, drinking milk, and taking his shoes of! After about 10 minutes of trying to get him to repress the button a friendly neighborhood dog walker saw me freaking out and invited me in to call 911! Of course during this time… Zach falls asleep! When I walk back out to the car he was napping peacefully, like he wasn’t trapped in my car! Oh to be two years old and carefree! Suddenly the loud siren of the fire truck signaled my saving grace and the end of Zach’s short nap! Of course he was ecstatic at the sight of the fire truck, and got a tour of the truck, and a Clifford dog to boot! After thanking the firemen and dog walker profusely Zach and I hurried inside where his luck continued in the form of 2 Thin Mint cookies! While he enjoyed his cookies I caught my breath and calmed down!

Have you ever locked yourself out of a car/house?

“woof woof”

Whew what a way to start my third quarter of grad school!

And now that zach is safely in his bed for nap time… its lunch time!!

On today’s menu? Carnitas Quesadillas!

Let me just tell you.. BEST LUNCH EVER! very  filling… so my dinner was very small.. but it was so worth it!

On my way to pick up Zach, I got guac, carnitas pork, and pico de gallo from Chipotle! Not wanting my usual salad I took my loot and threw t on top of a whole wheat mini tortilla, monterey jack and cheddar cheese, then more cheese and another tortilla!

mmmmmm… Tell me what is better than Chipotle’s guac?

Fast forward to after nap time, we played outside with Wrigley until the munchkin’s dad came home! Then it was hop in my car straight to Yoga Sculpt! Woooo what a class today! It was hardcore and I was definitely a sweaty hot mess… nice yea?

so  cute right? I am actually obsessed with this dog!

I came home still not very hungry even after an hour of intense weights, plyo, and yoga, and went straight to baking!

Now this was hard for me because I actually gave up sweets for Lent! This was brought  up today as I munched on my Chocolate Almond butter and apples! My friends doubted my choices!

This leads me to the ins and outs of Lent:

1. You have to be specific i.e I gave up cupcakes, cookies, brownies, licorice and CHOCOLATE BARS (not chocolate in general thank you very much) and shopping! As my friend Anne said… I gave up happiness

2. You can cheat on Sundays

3. you can’t eat meat on Fridays… which I failed at this week… ooops 😦

4. you are supposed to give up something that makes you a better person! Not shopping is making me stick to a budget and learn how to say no… sooo better person yea?

Ok so now that that is out there…. I made the GREATEST cookies.. well I think that but don’t know for sure because I can’t taste test!

Are you ready?

Legend…Wait for it….ARY

Tagalong Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

…. still with me?

yes I layered choc chip cookie dough, peanut butter, tagalong, peanut butter, choc chip cookie dough

mmm peanut buttery goodnesss

yes just like that!

Then I ran out of Tagalongs, and finished stuffing the choc chip cookies with Thin Mints… NBD

Cookie Recipe:

2 c all purpose flour

1 stick butter

1/2 c sugar

3/4 c brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

2 c chocolate chips

Then I used Skippy Natural Peanut Butter ( my FAVE)

and of course… the GS cookies! Dontcha just love GS cookie season? I DO!… even if I can only look

These cookies will most likely be devoured tomorrow by my lovely classmates!

What are your favorite GS Cookies? Mine definitely Thin Mints and Tagalongs!

Also….. today I allowed myself a guilty pleasure…. The Will and Kate edition of US Weekly….

SO EXCITED FOR THE WEDDING! For those of you who don’t know, I went to HS in London, and my parents still live over there! Needless to say I have a love of the royals… also I am a huge dork for British History! I am secretly still waiting to meet/marry Prince Harry… it’s fine!

Are you a Kate and Will fan?

Ok off to shower/get ready for tomorrow’s class!

xxoo

Peace, Love and be Sperry

 

 

Leave a Reply

