My Little Brother is Spoiled Rotten

Baby Bro Kev goes to CU Boulder, and it has become a tradition that everytime I come to Boulder I bring him and his roommates a treat… in fact they even told me that I am not allowed to come down with out one! See the spoiledness? (not a word oh well) However my dad is in town this weekend !!!!! and so tomorrow we are going to Boulder to see him!
I realized tonight when I got home from dinner at my Aunt Kathy’s house (highlight KU won, and my Grandma told me I wasn’t as smart as Sarah Palin… ouch?) that I needed to make the little brat best little bro ever something… Liza was more thank ok with this since she always reaps the benefits of my baking/cooking…. in the fact that our apartment smells amazing and she gets dibs!
I had a ton of cookie crumbs left over and was thinking of what to do.. when it hit me… cookie crusted brownies!!!
HUH?!? you may ask?
Yes layer of cookie crumbs

layer of brownie

LAYER OF COOKIE CRUMBS

and for added effect marshmallows lightly toasted on top

I know…. sounds heavenly right? like a smore…. made out of brownies and choc chip cookies.. winning duh

I used left over cookies, so use whatever you have lying around be it home made cookies or store bought no judgements!

For the brownie I used a recipe from the Magnolia Bakery cookbook! Get this book! Seriously it will change your life even if you have never been to Magnolia’s in NYC… the redvelvet… OMG to die for!

Brownie:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, melted  ( or 8 and 2 oz dark or unsweetened!)

Melt butter and chocolate together and then let cool for about 5 minutes!

Mix eggs and sugar until light and smooth, add in vanilla and then chocolate mixture

Add in flour and pour on top of layer of cookie crumbs

top with cookie crumbs

when there are 5 minutes left top with marshmallows!

Let cool and enjoy!

ok it’s late and I am getting up at the crack of dawn tomorrow for new SPP babies! That’s right my program is having it’s interview weekend! So pumped… more to come tomorrow!

xxoo

Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

Leave a Reply

