To Paleo or not to Paleo

Sooo I have been a little obsessed lately… with my weight.. I blame it on the fact that I am in a bikini  a lot now… oh well. Yesterday I did 3 work outs! Well two were spontaneous I am bored why not run 3 miles at 6 pm and elliptical for 30 min at 10 pm hahaha! I think it is because in the past few days my eating has been off! Monday night my friend and I decided to go for late night Wendys… now before this year I think the last time I went to Wendy’s was like 3 or 4 years ago! However he wanted it, and I wanted a Frosty… man those things are soo good! And then yesterday I had fro yo and cookies! ok a cookie… but also lots of dough! Any way after eating another cookie today, followed by cherries I realize I eat A LOT of sugar. Albeit it is usually in the natural form aka fruit as I have almost completely stopped eating fake sugar, because I have a cookie or baked good maybe once a month, I also eat a lot of fro yo! I have been hooked on Cely’s blog lately and she has started the Paleo diet. I love Cely I think she is actually the funniest person in the world, and her blog is on my daily obsessive list along with Janaeand Julie! ANyways I have been toying with the idea of Paleo for a few weeks now… it is basically eating the way the Cavemen ate… but I don’t know! I really don’t like to be on an actual diet because well I hate feeling restricted.. and on Paleo… I can’t eat dairy… which means no FRO YO!!! ahhh the horror the horror!! SO yea.. that and I know.. I am thin, I have a good figure, but I would LOVEEE to have abs!  like real ones hahaha… sooo maybe I will just cut down some sugar, and portion control!

Ok sorry about this random tangent… I would love if body issues never existed… which is why I love this post Julie wrote about the comparison trap! Part of my problem is that I compare myself with others too much!! Really it’s time to embrace ME! ok good self-talk hahaha

In other news…. lets talk about my lunch!!!

Soo when I lived in Italy there was a sandwich place by the NYU campus… Bar Lidia….OMG…this place was like crack, they had the best sandwiches and sold massive vats of wine for like 5 euro…. win

I tried not to go there very often because it wasn’t exactly the healthiest thing on the planet but when I did I always got the same sandwich! Turkey and prosciutto with pesto and mozzarella!

Today I recreated this sandwich that I haven’t tasted in 4 years completely by accident! On whole wheat bread I spread homemade pesto, topped with muenster cheese, turkey and prosciutto and avocado! I put the sandwich on the GF grill for a few minutes.. wow… this sandwich was amazing!!! I served it with grape tomatoes and cherries!!!

I also wanna share with you guys my homemade pesto recipe! I love pesto… like can just eat it with a spoon, which maybe kind of weird but whatever! I found this recipe a few years ago on Cooking Light and have literally never looked back… both my mom and I are hooked on this stuff!

Macadamia Nut Pesto

From Cooking Light
3 cups fresh basil leaves

3 tablespoons roasted macadamia nuts

3 tablespoons grated fresh Parmesan cheese

2 tablespoons olive oil

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

The recipe also calls for half and half and lemon juice but I have never used these, although now I do want to try lemon juice! If you are looking for a fresh new pesto that is slightly lighter give this a whirl!

yea how good does that look????

Now I have mentioned cookies… I made cookies last night… soooo good! I got the recipe from Kim… you know I love MONSTER COOKIES and these had MARSHMALLOWS IN THEM!! Yes Please!!!

Adapted from Lovin From the Oven and Pinch of Yum

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1  stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1  cup peanut butter
  • 2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup semi sweet chips
  • 1 cup  butter scotch chips
  • 1 cup miniature marshmallows
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Stir together the flour, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl.
  3. Cream butter and both sugars until fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla.
  4. Add the peanut butter and mix until smooth. Mix in the flour mixture until just combined.
  5. Stir the oats and chips into the dough with a wooden spoon.
  6. Drop the dough by heaping tablespoonfuls onto baking sheets, about 3 inches apart. Push in 4-5 marshmallows into each cookie dough ball. Bake for about 8-10 minutes, until golden.
3 thoughts on “To Paleo or not to Paleo

  1. Just a note… Paleo is NOT low carb. It was in the beginning but there has been a massive paradigm shift since this new year weighing heavily in favor of non-grain starches instead of heavy in meats and fats where it was originally.

    Paleo means cutting out grains (white rice is the exception), omega 6 fats, and excess fructose. A true paleo diet should sit somewhere between 55% carb (some even ate up to 70% carb, like the Kitavans, who have 25-30% fat, 15-25% protein. Carbs should come from yams, potatoes and other starchy tubers like yucca, taro, and plantains. Fats should come from animal and fish sources only and should be mostly saturated. Many “paleos” consume waaay to many nuts, fruit, and “paleo treats” like using almond flour and weird sweeteners which defeat the purpose of following what is supposed to be an traditional diet.

    Low carb is good if your metabolically screwed (see obese), but in the long run, for an individual who is already lean and active, low carb is a bad idea. Going to low carbs is metabolically stressful and can raise cortisol, the stress hormone, and wreck loads of havoc. Many report becoming a bit hypothyroid after being low carb for too long and resolution of symptoms upon adding starches in the from of tubers or white rice to the diet. But low carb can be theraputic in the short term for most… especially after eating a standard american diet. But if carbs come down, fats must come up.. otherwise you will be very tired and foggy!

    White rice is the exception because it lacks the anti-nutrients and harmful proteins that most other grains have. It is nothing but pure starch, which contrary to popular belief, is not bad for you.

    The takeaway from Paleo is cutting out the grains, vegetable and high PUFA oils, processed foods and excess fructose. Emphasis on better lifestyle choices such as stress reduction, lots and lots of sleep, eating ALL OF THE ANIMAL (liver, heart, kidneys, gelatin soups from feet and bones) sprinting, getting outside in the sun and heavy weight lifting. It is more than a fad diet that you go on to get in shape… it is a lifestyle where massive health changes can occur is implicated properly. There is a TON of science behind paleo and it needs to be understood to reallly get the whys and the hows of why this way of living is best suited to us.

    I’ve offically done every paleo variation… all meat, low carb (meat and veggies with some fruit), “lacto paleo”… which is basically Paleo + raw milk and raw dairy products, and now high carb paleo… eating a ton of potatos, sweet potatoes and white rice with loads of veggies and some fruits, with smaller meat portions than before but not skimping on them by any means. Been “Paleo” for about 2 years now? It is amazing how much it keeps changing.

    Best Paleo resources are:

    Primal Wisdom… who has just recently denounced low carb paleo in favor of high carb paleo
    http://donmatesz.blogspot.com/

    Whole Health Source
    http://wholehealthsource.blogspot.com/

    Robb Wolf’s site
    http://robbwolf.com/

    Perfect Health Diet… higher in fat but VERY thorough and scientific with their reasonings behind dietary choice.
    http://perfecthealthdiet.com/

    And of course Marks Daily Apple… more low carb Paleo
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com

    and many many many others… the Paleo blogosphere is huge and constantly growing/changing.

  2. Pingback: Of Pools and Potatoes – Eat, Drink, and be Sperry!

  3. Pingback: “Spaghetti” time! – Eat, Drink, and be Sperry!

Leave a Reply

