I Scream You Scream We All Scream For ICE CREAM… Cake!!!


Helloooooo

I know another weekend another 3 days without a post! It is becoming a bad bad bad habit! I promise I am not doing anything other than studying and packing so I will have plenty of time for all you! And I will spoil you eith all of my random thoughts and a recipe or five!

So this weekend Collen (Colleen) graduated from her MBA!! I wanted to do a post all about her on Friday but didn’t have time! Why you ask? Baby Bro needed an impromptu ride back to Boulder from Denver during rush hour… sweet THANKS Kev! I got home in time to clean up before getting take out on my way to Melissa’s now to be known at Twink! Friday night was the first of two nights of celebration in Collen’s honor! We started at Twink’s with homemade Sangria! While stuck in traffic on Friday I perused FB and found Kristin’s recipe for this delicious Sangria!!! OMG this was bomb….

The Best Sangria Ever

from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients:

1 bottle merlot (ok I used a 1.5 liter bottle….)

1 lemon, cut into wedges

1 orange, cut into wedges

2-3 Tablespoons sugar (I didn’t use any!)

1 shot rum (….6)

2-3 cups Ginger Ale (I used Diet)

Other fruit: strawberries

Combine wine, lemon slices, orange slices, sugar and rum into a pitcher. Muddle with the back of a large spoon to get the fruit to release some of its juice, and to dissolve the sugar if using.  Put into the fridge. Just before serving, stir in club soda/ginger ale. Serve over ice and fruit.

It is a must…. everyone loved it!

Needless to say…. Saturday morning was a bit of a strugss… but we made it up and out and back to Twinks to walk to the Farmers Market! I love this Farmers Market! Wrigs did too… he got a lot of attention and had fun with all the other dogs! We did some shopping and exploring before choosing our food! I decided on a veggie Pupusa!! OMG soooo goood! This was my first time having one and needless to say it was just what the doctor ordered! Afterwards we crawled,struggled,cried  walked back to Twink’s for some nap by the pool time! I wish I had gotten a picture of Collen passed out on her raft with one arm on the side of the pool… priceless! After an hour or two I parted ways to go get the ingredients to make the first of two ice cream cakes for a BBQ at Collen’s parents! It was her moms bday as well so we had a lot to celebrate! Unfortunately I did not give it enough time to solidify completely and we had CAKETASTROPHE! aka it melted! My three beautiful layers of coffee, mint, and cookies and cream became one layer of all the flavors! It still got eaten completely and had rave reviews soooo I am not too upset about it! And it was more entertaining! Her parents made an amazing dinner of Pecan crusted Tilapia, green beans, Artichoke Brown Rice and fruit salad! SOOOO GOOOD!

After dinner we went back to Collen’s for part two! I was pretty tired/full and so I refrained from drinking more than 1 and a half glasses of wine and half a Blue Moon We then bar hopped before ending up at Cowboy Lounge which is a bar that specializes in country music and dancing! It was fun but we were all pretty tired! We ended teh night in another sleepover at Collen’s! Twink and I left early the next morning so I could get back to Wrigs and go for a nice run! We ended up doing about six miles over all with a little bit of walking thrown in!

I came home, did GRE work, and made ice cream cake #2! Last night was my Grandma’s 80th bday so the entire family go together to celebrate!

This time I made the cake early and transported it in a bag with ice and my AC cranked all the way up!

It was a big hit!!! Ice cream cakes are the best treat for a summer celebration and are easy to put together as well!

Here is what I did:

I made a chocolate cake split into two pans using this recipe.. omg was it moist and delicious and wonderful!

I used one layer of Cookies and Cream

1 layer of Oreo Cookies crumbled up

1 layer of Min Chocolate Chip

Cake

Cool Whip frosting!

I decorated it with more Oreos!

SOOO good! Try it you will impress everyone!

Ok gotta go pick up little monster man from school!

If you could make an Ice Cream Cake which flavors would you use?

What did you do this weekend?

When you go out do you like chill bars or dance bars? I am more of a chill bar kind of girl but I DO love to dance!

xxoo!

Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

One thought on “I Scream You Scream We All Scream For ICE CREAM… Cake!!!

  1. Pingback: Fun for the Whole Family! – Eat, Drink, and be Sperry!

Leave a Reply

