In Sweetness and In Health!

Hello from Raleigh!! Today I have a great post for you guys from Lindsay over at In Sweetness and In Health! I love Lindsay (shes a fellow had student too!) and am so glad to have her on here today!!! Thanks Lindsay!
Hi Eat, Drink, and be Sperry readers! My name is Lindsay and you can find me over at my healthy living blog, In Sweetness and In Health. I’m super stoked to be writing a guest post for Meg. She and her blog are pretty awesome!

Today, I wanted to talk to you about how I try to eat healthy while I’m a full time graduate student. Currently I’m enjoying my short summer break, but I will be back to my rigorous course schedule in September!

Here are some tips based on the ways I work healthy eating into my busy life at school- and I’m sure these could also work for any of you who are part of the professional working world!

Make sure to stock up on lots of veggies at the grocery store.

       

  • This doesn’t mean you need to buy ton of expensive fresh vegetables every time you shop. I buy enough fresh veggies to make small salads for about 5 days out of the week, and then I purchase several bags of frozen vegetables. Frozen vegetables are great if you want to steam them or use them in pastas or stir-fry dishes! I love these Ziploc steam-bags. I use them all the time so that I can control how many vegetables I steam instead of wasting the whole bag that I bought!

Smoothies are a great way to sneak in your fruit servings!

       

  • I’ve always had a hard time getting enough fruit in my diet. I’m kind of picky when it comes to fruit- it’s a texture thing for me- and I’ve found that blending frozen berries and a banana into a smoothie is a great way to ensure that I’m not missing out on those nutrients! If you want some awesome smoothie recipes, you can check out these on Julie’s blog Peanut Butter Fingers!

EAT BREAKFAST

       

  • It is so important to fuel your mind and body for the rest of the day! Oats are my favorite breakfast- they are the only thing that seems to keep me full for a while!

Snack only if you’re hungry, not if you’re bored.

       

  • I absolutely have to snack during the day- generally at least twice. In addition to that I’ll often think I’m hungry when I’m studying, but really I just don’t want to be doing it. Drink some water and wait a bit to see if your hunger subsides- if it doesn’t, eat a snack! BUT, make sure it’s a snack that will actually satisfy your hunger. That means, nothing too sugary and nothing that consists only of carbs. I try to incorporate some protein and healthy fats into my snacks. Here are some ideas-
         

    • An apple and string cheese
    •    

    • Rice cakes topped with peanut butter
    •    

    • Greek yogurt
    •    

    • A granola bar and sliced veggies

Learn your way around the kitchen

       

  • Okay, I’m still working on this one, but it’s totally worth it! Not only does making your own meals save you money at the store, but it can be so much healthier! Packaged and already prepared meals usually have way too much sodium and even though they may be “low calorie”, they aren’t usually that great for you. There are too many unknown ingredients in those things and I’m trying to steer away from them. Search the internet from simple, healthy recipes or invest in some cookbooks! Here are pics of a couple of things I’ve made!

Easy crab cakes

Baked Salmon with an Orange Glaze

Limit the amount of calories you drink

       

  • I hardly drink soda or juice- it’s mainly water for me. If I want to enjoy a glass of wine, I try to do so only a few times a week, not every single night. Also, if I’m going to go out for a night on the town I only do it once a week or less (granted I don’t have much time either). I saw what drinking 4 or 5 nights out of the week did to many of my college friends and I refuse to get that beer gut. If you want to go out more often, try to get the less sugary beverages and limit the amount of drinks that you can have. Honestly, how intoxicated you are really doesn’t matter when you’re with people you love.

Pack your meals

       

  • If I’m going to be in class or at my building during a meal-time I always pack my food. That way I don’t go spend money on a meal that probably isn’t as good for me.

Treat yourself, but don’t overdo it.

       

  • Chocolate is my weakness. I LOVE it. Therefore, I have a piece of it every single day. And you know what? That one small piece satisfies my craving. Sometimes though, I do really want ice cream or a cupcake or some other dessert and I let myself have it. What I don’t do is indulge in those foods every single day. The less you eat junk food, the less you want it, and when you finally do treat yourself it really does taste so much better than if you had eaten something similar the night before.

Finally, if you can’t control yourself with certain foods, don’t buy them.

       

  • I have a hard time around chips and crackers. I may not even be remotely hungry, but for some reason my hand just keeps ending up in the bag or box and I shove my face. Therefore, I try not to buy those foods. Out of sight out of mind- it actually does work.

So, there you have it! Honestly, these are really easy ways to stay healthy while at school (or if you’re working). Feel free to visit me at my blog! I would love to hear from you. Special thanks to Meg for letting me take over her corner of the blog-world today!

Hi Eat, Drink, and be Sperry readers! My name is Lindsay and you can find me over at my healthy living blog, In Sweetness and In Health. I’m super stoked to be writing a guest post for Meg. She and her blog are pretty awesome!

Today, I wanted to talk to you about how I try to eat healthy while I’m a full time graduate student. Currently I’m enjoying my short summer break, but I will be back to my rigorous course schedule in September!

Here are some tips based on the ways I work healthy eating into my busy life at school- and I’m sure these could also work for any of you who are part of the professional working world!

Make sure to stock up on lots of veggies at the grocery store.

       

  • This doesn’t mean you need to buy ton of expensive fresh vegetables every time you shop. I buy enough fresh veggies to make small salads for about 5 days out of the week, and then I purchase several bags of frozen vegetables. Frozen vegetables are great if you want to steam them or use them in pastas or stir-fry dishes! I love these Ziploc steam-bags. I use them all the time so that I can control how many vegetables I steam instead of wasting the whole bag that I bought!

Smoothies are a great way to sneak in your fruit servings!

       

  • I’ve always had a hard time getting enough fruit in my diet. I’m kind of picky when it comes to fruit- it’s a texture thing for me- and I’ve found that blending frozen berries and a banana into a smoothie is a great way to ensure that I’m not missing out on those nutrients! If you want some awesome smoothie recipes, you can check out these on Julie’s blog Peanut Butter Fingers!

EAT BREAKFAST

       

  • It is so important to fuel your mind and body for the rest of the day! Oats are my favorite breakfast- they are the only thing that seems to keep me full for a while!

Snack only if you’re hungry, not if you’re bored.

       

  • I absolutely have to snack during the day- generally at least twice. In addition to that I’ll often think I’m hungry when I’m studying, but really I just don’t want to be doing it. Drink some water and wait a bit to see if your hunger subsides- if it doesn’t, eat a snack! BUT, make sure it’s a snack that will actually satisfy your hunger. That means, nothing too sugary and nothing that consists only of carbs. I try to incorporate some protein and healthy fats into my snacks. Here are some ideas-
         

    • An apple and string cheese
    •    

    • Rice cakes topped with peanut butter
    •    

    • Greek yogurt
    •    

    • A granola bar and sliced veggies

Learn your way around the kitchen

       

  • Okay, I’m still working on this one, but it’s totally worth it! Not only does making your own meals save you money at the store, but it can be so much healthier! Packaged and already prepared meals usually have way too much sodium and even though they may be “low calorie”, they aren’t usually that great for you. There are too many unknown ingredients in those things and I’m trying to steer away from them. Search the internet from simple, healthy recipes or invest in some cookbooks! Here are pics of a couple of things I’ve made!

Easy crab cakes

Baked Salmon with an Orange Glaze

Limit the amount of calories you drink

       

  • I hardly drink soda or juice- it’s mainly water for me. If I want to enjoy a glass of wine, I try to do so only a few times a week, not every single night. Also, if I’m going to go out for a night on the town I only do it once a week or less (granted I don’t have much time either). I saw what drinking 4 or 5 nights out of the week did to many of my college friends and I refuse to get that beer gut. If you want to go out more often, try to get the less sugary beverages and limit the amount of drinks that you can have. Honestly, how intoxicated you are really doesn’t matter when you’re with people you love.

Pack your meals

       

  • If I’m going to be in class or at my building during a meal-time I always pack my food. That way I don’t go spend money on a meal that probably isn’t as good for me.

Treat yourself, but don’t overdo it.

       

  • Chocolate is my weakness. I LOVE it. Therefore, I have a piece of it every single day. And you know what? That one small piece satisfies my craving. Sometimes though, I do really want ice cream or a cupcake or some other dessert and I let myself have it. What I don’t do is indulge in those foods every single day. The less you eat junk food, the less you want it, and when you finally do treat yourself it really does taste so much better than if you had eaten something similar the night before.

Finally, if you can’t control yourself with certain foods, don’t buy them.

       

  • I have a hard time around chips and crackers. I may not even be remotely hungry, but for some reason my hand just keeps ending up in the bag or box and I shove my face. Therefore, I try not to buy those foods. Out of sight out of mind- it actually does work.

So, there you have it! Honestly, these are really easy ways to stay healthy while at school (or if you’re working). Feel free to visit me at my blog! I would love to hear from you. Special thanks to Meg for letting me take over her corner of the blog-world today!
xxoo
Peace, love, and be Sperry!

2 thoughts on “In Sweetness and In Health!

Leave a Reply

