Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

Goood Morning!!

I hope all of you are having a great morning! Today is the first day of orientaion for the incoming class in my grad program so instead of getting up for an am workout, I am up getting ready to go meet them! I can’t believe my second year is about to start but I have pretty good thoughts about the upcoming school year because so far, everything is getting pretty exciting around here in a good way!

Would you like to know why?

Last night I had a date! I know… wow that never happens….but it wasn’t the first one either… it was the second.. or fourth or fifth we aren’t quite sure on that one 🙂

We decided I would make dinner, and since it was a cold rainy day here in Denver yesterday and I wasn’t quite sure of his tastes I stuck with the basics and made chicken parm which topped a pasta tossed with tomatoes, garlic, spinach, and basil! This was definitely a winner dinner and the perfect thing on a dreary day!

The chicken was super easy to make and pretty healthy too!

Easy Chicken Parm

2 chicken breasts pounded down

1 c tomato sauce of your choice (I usually make my own but didn’t have time)

1 ball fresh mozzarella

1/2 c parmesan cheese

Pasta:

Whole Wheat Pasta of your choice (I used fresh penne)

Diced tomatoes (I used canned because I was lazy)

1 c spinach

1/c basil

1 clove garlic

To make sure the chicken is fully cooked and doesn;t take eight years, I grill it on my george foreman first for about 10 minutes. Then I place it in my in individual casserole dishes and layer the sauce than the cheese on there. For a more veggie-fied meal you can make stacks with eggplant and chicken if you like eggplant! Bake at 400 for another 10 minutes and then take out and enjoy the bubbly fresh goodness of the cheese and sauce!

While the chicken is cooking boil water and cook your pasta. When it is done throw it in a large sauce pan with all the other ingredients… cook until spinach is slightly wilted! Place it on your dish and spoon your chicken over it! Anyone you make this for will be impressed because it is soooo good if I do say myself!

Excuse the picture as the lighting in my apartment was not very good!

ok that is all for now… I will fill you in more later.. but suspense is always good for the soul.. and I can’t write a beautiful story like Lisa can!

What is your go to date meal?

xxoo

Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

One thought on “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

  1. Honestly, I don’t know that I have a “go to” date meal. Yours looks great though. Chicken Parm is always a winner.

    After dating the new guy, I bet I’ll have some great go to date meals since he cooks, etc :).

Leave a Reply

