Marathon and Backwards Pants

Happy Saturday!

I am blogging from my bed where it is nice and warm and cozy after a 13.1 mile run this morning and weather that has now decided to go back into winter mode.. it s snowing BLEGH.. however I will still be getting my butt out of bed eventually to go to dinner and drinks with Collen and Twink! We are going to the Wazee Supper Club for dinner!

Funny story about my run this morning… I started my run and my pants kept feeling like they were falling down, so I went to tie them tighter when I  realized…. MY PANTS WERE ON BACKWARDS!!!! I am obviously highly observant in the morning…and did not realize I put my pants on the wrong way! Points for me hahaha.. so I ran with backwards pants, and grocery shopped in backwards pants… don’t judge… ok you can judge a little bit!

So today I wanted to talk about my marathon training… why I am running it, what plan(s) I am following, and any other details

Which?

The marathon I am running is the 2012 Rock N Roll Marathon in DC on March 17th!

Why?

I never thought I would run a full marathon… until last year I never even thought I would run a half marathon! But now I have run two halves and I think that I am ready to challenge myself further! My mom has run 3 marathons and I always looked up to her for that.. and so now I will be accomplishing something to be even more proud of myself! It helps that my mom will be running the half while I run the full so I get a running buddy for a bit! It will be nice to run with others for once!

My mom and I will be running to raise money for Cancer Research I believe in order to help all those with cancer. This is especially close to home as I have lost a grandmother to Colon Cancer and my Godmother to Breast Cancer. I also found out today that someone close to me has Colon Cancer and that has inspired my mom and I even further!

The one downside to this marathon is the time of year I am training. I do like colder weather better for running, but Snow is not my friend right now as it leaves ice and snow around for weeks which makes running outside difficult! I have done one 10 miler on the treadmill and it was awful.. but if need be it is there… I am hoping Mother Nature smiles on me for the next 9 Saturdays though! (wishful thinking much?)

What?

Most marathon training plans are 18 weeks long and I decided to run the marathon 14 weeks before! So I have had to adapt my plan to match that! I am loosely using Hal Higdon’s Marathon training for Beginners!

The loose plan is Rest days Monday and Friday, easy milers on Tuesday and Thursday and mid-long milers on Wednesdays! Saturdays are my long run days, and Sundays are my cross training days!

I started my long run distance at 9 miles, and have done 10, 10.5, and 13, which I know today I went a little above the no more than 2 mile increase but it was only .5 and I just felt good and wanted to keep on running! I will now follow Hal Higdon’s plan pretty much to the t!

This is what the next few weeks will look like!

9

Rest

3 m run

7 m run

4 m run

Rest

10

cross

10

Rest

3 m run

7 m run

4 m run

Rest

15

cross

11

Rest

4 m run

8 m run

4 m run

Rest

16

cross

12

Rest

4 m run

8 m run

5 m run

Rest

12

cross

13

Rest

4 m run

9 m run

5 m run

Rest

18

cross

14

Rest

5 m run

9 m run

5 m run

Rest

14

cross

15

Rest

5 m run

10 m run

5 m run

Rest

20

cross

16

Rest

5 m run

8 m run

4 m run

Rest

12

cross

17

Rest

4 m run

6 m run

3 m run

Rest

8

cross

18

Rest

3 m run

4 m run

2 m run

Rest

Rest

Marathon

I have been pleasantly surprised by how much I have enjoyed the longer runs and pushing myself to run more than I usually do! I am sure come 16,18, and 20 I will maybe not be so much of a fan of the increased mileage but at the end of the day it is done in 2-4 hours and after that I can sit around feeling accomplished and productive!

Gear?

So I usually run in either my LuLu Lemon running leggings, or Nike running shorts.. well not so much the shorts since it is winter and well ya know its not really ideal short running weather most of the time!

I run with my IPhone in a Belkin running case that straps around my arm, or for long runs a CamelBak fanny pack (always stylin) that I hold water or a sports drink and Clif Shot Bloks which are my new running fuel of choice! I love these because they taste like candy and I really hate the Gu gel stuff… blegh.

On the shoes front I switch between my Nike’s or Asic Cumulus which I love! I need to retire the Nike’s to just gym shoes but I just can’t I love them so much! I also want to get compression sleeves for my long runs and post run in order to aid recovery and prevent injury!

Ok I think that about sums up my basic training details! If you have any questions or tips let me know!!

xxoo
Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

3 thoughts on “Marathon and Backwards Pants

  1. Your training plan looks good. I like how it includes rest days and cross training day. I’ve had way too many injuries from just running ALL the time. I’m now a BIG FAN of cross training days. As far as compression sleeves, I really like the ones from Zensah. I wore them during all my long runs training for Savannah Rock N Roll this past fall. Plus I ran them during the race and they helped with recovery. I would wear them after my long runs ALL day after. Train well and have FUN!!!!

Leave a Reply

