Once Upon A Time

Its an off day.. or well an off morning.. and considering I have yet to leave my bed I am sure it is bound to potentially get better however right now its not looking so good. For some reason when I was out last night with my friends.. something I had looked forward to all day I just couldn’t get into it and was in quite a funk! I didn’t even enjoy the food at my favorite Mexican Restaurant!!!!! Sad Face Fail I know… hopefully this little stint of megancholia (play on words haha I’m sooooo clever) will go away because it is NO fun and I am not a fan of bad moods

Instead of getting up and being productive however I have allowed myself to wallow and watch episode upon episode of Once Upon A Time on my laptop… because ya know when in Rome? (does that apply here… probably not)

For those of you who have not yet seen Once Upon A Time… watch it… IT IS SO GOOD! Seriously I am pretty much obsessed with it.

Once Upon A Time is, at its core, a story about hope. “For us, that’s what a fairytale is. It’s that ability to think your life will get better. It’s why you buy a lottery ticket—because if you win you get to tell your boss that you’re quitting and you get to move to Paris or wherever and be who you always wanted to be. And that’s Cinderella, right? One day she’s sweeping up and the next she’s going to the ball. Adam and I just wanted to write about something hopeful that for one hour a week allows one to put everything aside and have that feeling that your dreams just may come true.”

 Edward Kitsis, Co-Creator/Executive Producer

This explanation is probably why I am so attracted to this show… it gives me hope.

Basically the show follows the lives of favorite fairy tale characters who have been cursed to live in modern day Maine in a town called Storybrooke by the evil Queen (Snow White’s step mother).They have no memory of who they are. The show opens with Emma Swan, a 28 year old bail bonds person who is celebrating her birthday alone when the son she gave up for adoption finds her and asks her to come back with him to Storybrooke. Henry, the 10 year old son, has a theory about the curse and trapped fairy tale characters that stems from a fairy tale book given to him by his teacher Miss Blanchard (Snow White). The evil Queen happens to be his adopted mother and the Mayor of Storybrooke. Henry believes that Emma (the daughter of Snow and Prince Charming) is destined to defeat the evil Queen and free the inhabitants of Storybrooke from the curse.

Henry and Emma

Rumpelstiltskin and Cinderella

evil Queen

Each episode follows certain characters both in their life in Storybrooke and their fairy tale. Each fairy tale has been redone in interesting and creative twists with Rumplestiltskin playing a part in almost every one. I love how they take what seem to be innocent tales from our childhood and turn them into intriguing tales that often have a darker side to them, especially with the inclusion of Rumpelstiltskin, who makes contracts with characters that change their fate.

My favorite story line is the Snow and Prince Charming plot as I am sucker for those kinds of stories and the twists the writers keep throwing in keep me constantly guessing at how they eventually end up together while keeping with the “True Love’s Kiss” idea that was the corner stone of the Disney movie, and also introduced in the very first episode.

For more on this plot read Laura Prudom’s review in the Huff Post.. it was awesome


Ok now I should probably get out of bed and go run errands! Hope you enjoyed my little spiel on one of the best shows evaaaaaa
xxoo 
Peace, Love, and be Sperry!
One thought on “Once Upon A Time

Leave a Reply

