Not So Bright and Shiny

Hello there!

I hope everyone had a fabulous Valentines day!!! I got to have a date with my two favorite Valentines fir the second year in a row!!!

Like last year we celebrated the day with pizza, desserts (from whole foods) and wine! This year I decide to make the pizza, and trued out the pre made packages whole foods whole wheat pizza crusts!! These are awesome! If you are in the mood for a quick healthier take on pizza definitely pick up this crust!

I also decided to not make dessert based on time, and so I went with an assortment of mini desserts including cookies and cream brownie bites, peanut butter brownie bites, and lemon bar bites as well as chocolate covered strawberries!

I also had a good 6 mile run yesterday which was a great way to start the day!

Sooo considering how awesome yesterday was today I woke up a tad angsty elf for some reason. (for those who don’t know me that well I like to put my emotions in elf terms… thank you Will Ferrell and ELF the movie) Reasons for this may include that fact that I dread my 6 hour class that I am currently in (dry, boring, not a fan of the professor, LONG) and the stress I feel on these long wednesdays about fitting in a run. Yes had yesterday not been Vday I may have been able to wake up at 5 to run 9 miles…. however I didn’t go to bed till 12 sooo I decided to allow myself to sleep in! Now I have the dilemma of class till 2, meeting till 2:45, nannying  till 5:30, consulting till 8, and then running at 8 pm! That idea is quite daunting to me sooo I get stressed out about it…. silly I know but there it is. I am also stressed out about school and the balance between what I need to do this weekend and what I WANT to do this weekend. I have friends going up to the mountains and I REALLY want to see them… but I have like 8 million things due on monday/next week/next few weeks soooo I am a tad anxious and blegh

Sorry that is a bit ranty rant so any advice, words of wisdom, words of cheer would be much needed today!

Ironically, right now in class and in a paper I am writing, we are talking about self esteem and support systems namely parents and friends. Lately I have been in a really good place because I have really realized the amazing support system I have collected around me. So today is just an anomaly. However it is a really interesting aspect in developing self esteem. If your parents aren’t supportive or are overly supportive and hovering what does that mean for development? This can be seen on shows like Dance Moms and Toddlers and Tiaras where moms are crazy! They hover, they challenge teachers/coaches/other parents, judge other athletes etc. These dancers are put under so much pressure that when they don’t do as well as expected, they are crushed and their self esteem reflects that. This is part of what drives me in my future work, I want to work with child and adolescent athletes (Hello Lifetime want to hire me to be on Dance Moms?) Fear of Failure, Fear of Success, Self-Handicapping,Hyper-sensitivity to criticism,excessive will to please (i have this) and indecisiveness all of this comes from low self-esteem and the environment that the children are a part of! Take home message… Parents.. chill out…. don’t push too hard or be too overbearing, just be loving and supportive and create realistic expectations for your athletes! They will be better off in the long run! (obviously I am not a parent so please don’t let my opinion offend you.. it is purely observational)

A bit of a tangential post today but I just wanted to share what was on my mind!

Any whoooo hope YOU guys are having a good Wednesday!

xxoo

Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

3 thoughts on “Not So Bright and Shiny

  1. I like this post because I can tell you were discussing what was truly on your mind! A long day like that, and ANY workout after 8pm, would stress me out too. I feel like as soon as it hits 7:30 or so, all motivation I have to work out goes right out the window. Probably because I’m such a grandma haha. Glad you had a good VDay date, pizza and wine is one of my fave combos ever.

Leave a Reply

