Comfort Food Made Healthy!

So lately I have been craving fried chicken… I think it has been ever since I was in the South a few weeks ago! I love fried chicken but I can’t actually remember the last time I had it! So today when I was at the grocery store, I had an idea to make healthier “fried” chicken!!!

I have seen recipes for corn flake chicken everywhere but just never tried it before…. omg I am so glad I did! Both Liza and I loved this! I also made my Turkey Chili to go with! Yay for Comfort Food!

I had mini chunks of chicken so mine were more like Popcorn Chicken which I liked even better!!!!

24 chicken thighs or wing drumettes with skin ( I used one lb of chopped chicken… probably 3-4 in chunks!)
2 c. crumbed corn flakes
1/2 c whole wheat flour
1/2 c. milk
1 egg
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
Preheat oven to 350
Dip chicken pieces in mixture of egg milk, salt and pepper, then roll in cornflake crumbs. Lay the pieces of chicken on a shallow baking dish and bake for one hour!
Enjoy while warm with honey mustard dipping sauce.. YUM!!!
This was much needed today as I felt pretty awful all day… my body was not my friend today after 20 miles yesterday… and I was good and had a quiet night!
I did however treat myself and boy am I glad I did! Twink and Collen and I (tired of hearing about the three of us yet?) went to Larkburger… OMG I forgot how much I love their truffle and parmesan fries!! I also got a burger with pepper jack cheese and truffle aoili on a lettuce “bun” and a chocolate milkshake!!! YUM… I loved every bite of everything I ate yesterday… food is so enjoyable when you aren’t thinking about it and just enjoying it for what it is!
Ok now off to watch the Oscars!! beeheee guess what? Only two more weeks of school left until my 2 week spring break!!!! I neeed it!
xxoo
Peace, Love, and be Sperry!
One thought on “Comfort Food Made Healthy!

Leave a Reply

