HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY

Woo one of my favorite Holidays of the year!! I am in Paris, Tennessee right now enjoying a day of boating, grilling, and hanging out with Whitt and his family! While I am sure all of you have parties today as we’ll I wanted to share a quick and easy 4th of July recipe.. that can be used for Labor day parties as well!!! (or to celebrate AMURICA in the upcoming Olympics!)

I got the recipe from Nosh and Tell which is a fantastic blog that one of my sorority sisters and her friend started a few years ago!

Sour Cream Pound Cake with  Whipped Cream and Berries!

1 cup, 2 sticks butter, softened
3 cups sugar
1 cup sour cream ( I used lite)
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 cups all purpose flour ( I used white whole wheat)
6 eggs*
1 tsp vanilla
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease a bundt pan, set aside.
In a large mixing bowl cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the sour cream and mix until combined. Sift the baking soda and flour together. Add to the creamed mixture alternating with the eggs beating each egg 1 at a time. Add the vanilla. Pour the mixture into prepared  pan. As I wanted a flag cake I made my pound cake in a rectangular 9×12 pans I could  then decorate the top as a flag! Mine baked for about 50 minutes… If using a bunt pan then bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes
When cool, take cake out of pans, and allow to sit for about 15 minutes more. Then spread whipped cream  arrange strawberries and blueberries in a flag formation on top! Serve chilled and enjoy!
Hope you all have a happy fourth!!
xxoo
Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

 

Leave a Reply

