Hills and running

Hello there!

So today I wanted to talk about whats been going on fitness wise lately! Way back in July which feels like a hundred years ago I signed up for the Disney Princess 1/2 marathon with Liz!! I kind of forgot about it for awhile and just wasn’t running a lot.. one because I started doing Fitmixer bootcamo and was more focused on those workouts, and two because I had no motivation to run! Then around November the running bug bit me again! Unfortunately with the craziness of my schedule I am only running 3 times a week with 2 short runs and a long run each week mixed in with round 2 of Fitmixer Bootcamp which started up again last week! I have also found an amazing spin class that I go to when I can which is Nashville’s version of Soul Cycle in NYC!

From anyone who read my blog the past two years especially my marathon recap- you know I HATE hills… with a passion. In Colorado I would hit a wall during hills and have to really focus on getting up them. Then when I ran my marathon and it was super hilly- I walked most of them and had a really hard time with it. So when I moved here and realized how hilly it would be when I started running again it kind of stressed me out! However lately all my long runs are pretty hilly because of the easiest route for me to run.. and I haven’t really had a problem at all! I have even started sprinting the hills towards the end of my runs which is typically when I get a burst of energy anyways! I love this new trend I am seeing in my running because it makes me feel so much stronger and able to conquer anything! I think a lot of it has to do with the training I have been doing with Fitmixer! The workouts have really helped to build my endurance and ability to push myself!

Not only have the hills been easy but considering between the months on March and November I ran maybe 5-6 times, my long runs have been great! On all of them I have been able to do negative splits, get faster with each run, and feel like I could keep going! I have stuck to my designated mileage though and instead focused on increasing speed if I have a lot of energy during a run! I really want to PR in this next half of mine and that would be anything under 2:07!

OK thats my running rant of the day!

What have you guys been doing for exercise?

xxoo

Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

Leave a Reply

