The New Plan

Hello all!

I hope this week has started off well for all of you! I am in break mode at the moment after having 3 clients this morning! Starting at 5 am is a lot easier when I know I have breakfast/morning nap time around 8am!

Today I wanted to start a new series of posts chronicling my new plan! For the past year, I have been in rehab mode, and then rebuild mode which turned into overtraining, and as I have hit my own plateau lately it was time to take a look around and do something different!

For those of you who know me/ have read this blog in the past- fitness is a huge a part of my life and I really try and make room for it every day. Last summer into last fall when I was only able to do certain exercises in PT, and thankfully cardio in the form of spinning I wasn’t able to train as intensely as I felt like I should be doing. I was eating relatively healthy and definitely wasn’t gaining weight but  I just felt it wasn’t enough. In January/February, I started really kicking my workouts up- I was finally feeling stronger and had gotten the clear to do plyo/running/ weights again. This turned into 2-3 hour workouts  a day. At first I was eating whatever I wanted, and then I started restricting a little more. Results appeared as of course they would with that kind of regimen but as I tell clients- it is unhealthy and unsustainable… it is also the gateway for an eating disorder. Once May hit bringing with it a wedding, Memorial Day and other events I slowed down on the working out easing back to only 1-2 hours a day but I was still being pretty restrictive food wise in order to continue achieving results. However I had reached a stalemate- no matter what I did I could not get to my final goal no matter what I did. Around this time, my boss for The MindBody Dr. and her husband moved back and started using STEPS ( the main gym I train at) for the base of their new business component- which is InBody body composition testing combined with a V02 max test. I was immediately intrigued after watching a few of them done, because it gives you a chance to really get to know the make up of your body and how to fuel and train more effectively and efficiently.

I was finally able to take the test last week and it has really changed the way I look at things! Tiffany and I sat down to look at my results and we realized right away that I was overtrained and my muscles weren’t getting enough nutrition! To this extent we adjusted my macros to fit my activity level and shrank down my workout time! I love the idea of this new plan because I am not focusing on calories or cutting anything out instead it is making sure I get enough of what my body needs! So this is how it looks now:

4-6 meals a day

42 g fat

170 g carbs

113 g protein

30-40 min of exercise a day which is broken into

2 days HIIT training

2 days strength

2 days steady state cardio

Today concluded week 1 and I am loving the way I am eating! I am eating and working out to build and keep lean muscle and it I can see the definition more than last week already! I weigh myself again on the InBody tomorrow so I will see if there have been any results made there. Honestly I don’t think there will be yet- I went a little HAM on the drinking this past weekend so we shall see! Each week on tuesday I will be checking in with you guys about how it is going! I am really excited about this!

My boss Tiffany is on the plan as well- Last week she blogged about her first 5 weeks and she is looking great! Check it out here!

You can also learn more about the The Macro Diet here

If you have any questions or are in the Nashville area and would like to get a test done let me know!!

Peace, Love, and be Sperry!

xxoo

Megan

Leave a Reply

